cool toys.

I was completely rotten and spoiled as a child. I threw fits when we went to Target so that my mom would buy me a new pack of Pokemon cards (that’s real life). I never got a Charizard card, though. So if anyone has one, it may complete my collection and you should get up with me later. I know you’re probably shocked and thinking: you loved Target when you were that young? You are so cool, Katherine! Yes, friend, I did, and yes friend, I know.

When I would beg for these toys, I would usually get them. I don’t know if it was because my mom loved me or because she wanted me to shut up, but I got them (let’s go with the first option, for the purpose of the blog). I would be SO pumped. As soon as I got in the car after walking out of Target I would rip that pack of Pokemon cards open. I probably had half of them already, but I didn’t care. The cards were so cool! I would thank my mom over and over and over, probably the whole way home from the store. I would go home and clean my room, too, to show my gratitude. Then I would sit on the floor and organize my Pokemon cards and look at them. I didn’t play the game, by the way. I wasn’t that nerdy.

This initial excitement would last until I found out we were having meatloaf for dinner. I exchanged my mother’s “best mom award” with a “you suck I can’t believe you would make me eat meatloaf” ribbon. Then I went back to my room and played with my Pokemon cards. They were so fun to look at and hold, even though I didn’t understand the actual game at all. I was obsessed with those cards. I seriously had hundreds of them.

My mom gave me these cards, she bought me these stupid little cards, and instead of being obsessively thankful and wanting to show her my appreciation, I just became obsessed with the toys. That’s how it always was. I would become obsessed with the awesome toys that I had instead of being obsessed with my mom that gave them to me. It took all of three seconds for me to forget who gave me these little treats and why she gave them to me. My mind was on one thing: Pikachu.

For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools, and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and creeping things. Therefore God gave them up in the lusts of their hearts to impurity, to the dishonoring of their bodies among themselves, because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever! Amen. [Romans 1:18-25]

That huge chunk was necessary to explain my life right now, I think. Let me try to relate this back to my mom and Pokemon (which I can do, by the way). I know who my mom is. She’s my freaking mom! She showed me that by giving birth to me, and then by taking care of me. That is obvious. But all it took was a shiny toy and I forgot she existed. As soon as she exercised her “mom magic” and gave me what I wanted, I forgot about her. I exchanged my mom for a pack of Pokemon cards. AMEN.

This is my relationship with God right now. I never fully understood this passage and maybe I still don’t, but I think I’ve gotten a much better grasp on it this morning. God has clearly shown me who he is. Throughout the summer, He has obviously provided for me and blessed me through answered prayer. I have a job, a home, and great friends. All of these are fantastic things that I prayed for fervently and God responded. Therefore, I am without excuse. Instead of honoring God and thanking God for these things, I decided it would be a better idea to worship them and forget God completely. Huh? That sounds incredibly stupid when I write it out, but that is just the reality of my sinfulness. “Thanks for the toys, God. I think I’ll play with them now, but I’ll hit you up when I get bored or need some more cool stuff.” I can specifically remember times that God has responded to my prayers, and it doesn’t phase me. I’m more concerned with working, working out, hanging out with my peeps, and watching daggon Netflix. Who do I think I am?

I don’t have a solution. This is just what I’m working through right now. This is sin, people. The only good thing so far is that I’ve realized I have a problem. My main problem being that I was obsessed with Pokemon, and then a close second is my super weak relationship with God. SO, this week I have pledged to memorize a verse a day that has to do with depending on God for life. I want to remember the Truth. We shall see how this goes.

Jigglypuff, out.

Leave a Reply

