let’s talk about sex, baby.

I usually wake up late in the mornings. When I say late, I mean I have to leave for work at 7:45 and I wake up around 7:15 on a good day. Somehow, I manage to take a shower, brush my teeth, and put on some semi-decent “business casual” clothes and stumble out the door. I am usually still struggling on the drive to work, so I like to blast music and send lip-syncing videos to my friends. Maybe you’ve been lucky enough to see one.

But today, I chose to ride in silence. A 25-30 minute commute at 7:45 in the morning is awfully quiet when there is no Top-40 music blasting, let me tell you. But I cannot bring myself to listen to the radio anymore.

I don’t normally love expressing my opinion (yes I do), but I just need to vent. For the first 15 minutes of my drive to work, all of the songs on the radio were about sex. And the vulgarity is unreal. “Baby let me push your panties to the side” is an actual freaking line of a song that is playing on the radio right now. Even the popular radio station in my town has the slogan, “Just turn us on – sexual moan – we’ll take care of the rest.” I know what you’re thinking, “why don’t you turn it off and stop being such a prude?” Well friends, if a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does the radio still play sex music? Yes, yes it does!

Let’s have a moment of vulnerability…and mathematics. If I have a 30 minute commute to work, and listen to 20-25 minutes of music about sex during that commute, what will probably be on my mind for at least the entire morning, if not the rest of the day? Exactly. I’ll be thinking about all of the “buttons” that Lil’ Wayne wants to push once I enter “Wayne’s World.” That sounds like a scary place.

I’m not condemning sex at all. What I’m more concerned about is the fact that it’s becoming the norm. There are actually parents in my hometown that think it’s cute when their children spend the night with each other. It’s no longer normal to go out with someone without hitting all the bases within a week or two. What is with this fast-paced culture we have become a part of? To all you teenagers out there, just quit trying to be adults. Tell me how much you like “playing adult” when the electric company threatens to cut off your power because you can’t figure out automatic draft, or you don’t know how to iron dress pants without melting them. The adult struggle is real. Why do you want to get there so quickly? Stop being “rachet.”

I’m not trying to come down on all of you sexy people, believe me. I am not perfect. We are all in this together. But we, as a family, need to stop taking things like this so lightly. How can we be so liberal-minded and almost celebratory about something like premarital sex, yet attack things like homosexuality for being “against the Bible?” Half of the people on my newsfeed who throw shout-outs to the Duck Dynasty crew on the regs were probably going to bed with their significant other that night. What does that say about “Christianity?” Our concerns lie with morality in society, and for some reason, sexual morality didn’t make the cut.

It is time that we open our eyes to the real issues here. We don’t know Jesus. Claiming to know him and actually being saturated by the Gospel are two different things. If we actually knew who Jesus was and what kind of sacrifice he made for us, momentary pleasures would become meaningless. Sex with your boyfriend or girlfriend becomes a distraction from what you know is good, instead of the only good thing you know. It becomes less about being moral and more about finding ways to honor and represent Christ to people who don’t know him. It becomes less about trying to look like a “good Christian” and more about celebrating our weakness and the fact that we cannot avoid failure, and knowing we are covered by a never ending grace. A grace that is NEW every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23). We have access to the one who created the universe! Why are we not taking advantage of that?! Friends, we are too focused on what we can have right now instead of what eternity is going to look like for us. That should be a terrifying thought.

Maybe we should all turn off the radio for a little while…and listen to something sweeter.

Leave a Reply

